Technology and Children

I read something fairly interesting at a family member’s blog about how kids are interacting with technology. This is a particularly interesting topic from my point of view, because I can’t remember a point in time when I wasn’t able to use a computer, I was playing very basic educational games before I could talk, and once I reached ten I was playing video games at every opportunity – and at school it had become strange to not have a typed assignment. This got even worse during high school when the range of things that could be done on the Internet increased rapidly, and I became more and more engrossed in computer games – to the point of using them to escape reality in my mid teenage years.

It’s always fascinated me how quickly children can pick up on how to use technology, I’m certain that at some point in the future I’m going to have to be told how to work something by one of my future kids – and I’m exceptionally  technologically literate! And thus is the balance that has to be held – people don’t want to hold their children back (especially since technology is changing and improving so quickly), but there is also the need to let kids be kids, and to allow them to learn about the world, and about life, at the same time as learning to handle technology.

When I come to this question (and I’m sure I will), I suppose that I will be grateful to have had the benefit of having almost completely having grown up with computers and the Internet, and as such am aware of the good that technology can have, and also of the issues concerning the use of technology (having been exposed or having suffered through many of them) – especially as I continue becoming introspective and considering the effect my upbringing and choices have had upon the way I’ve turned out. I have the ability to see how my parents handled this, and learn from it (unlike many for whom modern technology only became dominant when they were older), and I am thankful.

Something to think about, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

