Abolitionist Sunday

Yesterday was Abolitionist Sunday – a day about raising awareness about the continuing problem of slavery in our world today. As this is something very much on the hearts and minds of many people from my church, we set aside both services yesterday so that a group from our church could talk about slavery, and what we can do about it.

This was a bit of a challenge for me. I’ve been aware of the fact that there is an illegal slave trade going on around the world (that’s affected more lives than the English-American slave trade that many people condemn outright) for some time, and I’ve struggled a bit lot with the question of ‘What can I do about it?’ Yesterday the speakers encouraged everyone to think about how they can use whatever gifts they have (whatever is in their hands – which I can’t tell if it’s Christianese or not) to do their part towards the abolition of modern slavery. I spent a lot of time yesterday thinking about this, and (as usual for me) I finally came up with an idea while I was trying to sleep. I’m still considering this, but I thought I’d share it anyway.

I’m currently thinking – somewhat inspired by the ongoing Desert Bus For Hope (A gaming marathon that raises money for Child’s Play) –  that maybe I could set up some form of Gaming Marathon for Children that don’t get a childhood (the situation that most distressed me about slavery being that most of todays slaves are children – who are enslaved to fight in wars, work to produce coffee, tea, and many others, or as prostitutes). I’m still working through details, but the money would go towards one of the many groups working to bring people out of slavery and help them through the trauma their experiences produced. I’m thinking about playing through one of the games of my own early childhood (Word/Math Rescue; Commander Keen; etc) in a sort of ‘revisit my own childhood for those who don’t have one’ theme – and doing something along the lines of the more donations that come in, the longer I (and anyone else who wants to join in – possibly taking shifts for health reasons) play for. I might even (if this idea comes to fruition) set it up so the experience is taped and posted on Youtube or something – although if that happens maybe something else should happen throughout as well……….

As I said, this is a halfbaked idea that came to me in the middle of the night, so I’m completely open to input/suggestions/critisisms/etc. But I do want to encourage all of you to make a stand on the issue of modern slavery, and use whatever gifts you have, whatever positions you hold, and whatever influence you can exert to affect a change in the world – whether large or small.

Leave a Reply

