The End of an Era

Appologies for missing last weeks post – between a lack of time on my writing days, and a desire to ask a few of the people involved in the post I was writing whether it was ok with them, I simply couldn’t get one written out….to make it up to you guys, here’s the first of at least 2 posts this week…..

I graduated last Monday (the 12th), which brought with it a lot of reflection and introspection on my part. Not only was Monday Night the recognition of 3 years of hard work, wherein I received a certificate saying ‘Benjamin Larkin has done everything he needed to do to receive an Advanced Diploma of Ministry’, but it was, for me, very much the end of an era in my life. I have been a student for 16 years – since I started Kindergarten at 4 years old – and in that time, the period from November 2011 (my last exam) to now is the longest consecutive time period where I haven’t had to attend classes, take notes, sit exams, or write assignments. At this point in time, I can no longer call myself a student.

This is a big deal for me, up until now the fact that I am a student has been a big part of my life – and probably a part of my identity (which would explain some apprehension and confusion that I have been feeling this year) – and now I have finished studying (for now, I can’t speak to the future). I can’t say what this year holds for me, but if Monday Night marked the end of an Era, Tuesday morning must have marked the beginning of something…..

Leave a Reply

